Page 1 of 1

Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 7:23 pm
by the_gamer
Hi,

again a very odd problem: Everything is working fine but when I run retroarch from wahcade it only shows a black screen with the black standard-X-Cursor.
I really didn't change anything. Works fine when starting from anywhere else. Logfile:
Code: Select all
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: //======================= NEW LOG RUN =======================//
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: Wah!Cade updating user config files in: /home/cab/.wahcade
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: Lock file found: Removing
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: Lock File removed successfully
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: No custom splash found, loading /usr/share/wahcade/pixmaps/wahcade-logo.png
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: [TWITTER] support disabled due to missing options
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: [TWITTER] consumer_key cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: [TWITTER] consumer_secret cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: [TWITTER] access_key cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: [TWITTER] access_key cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:31 2014]: Warning: ScrSaver: video objects not created, reverting to images
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:32 2014]: Selected platform: NES / Famicom
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:32 2014]: Selected gameslist: All Games
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:32 2014]: Fullscreen mode
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:32 2014]: [DEBUG]  [ARTWORK] No match for Ninja Gaiden (U) [!] in /games/nesscreens
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:32 2014]: [DEBUG]  [ARTWORK] No match for Ninja Gaiden (U) [!] in /games/nesscreens
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:35 2014]: [LAUNCH] Single extension only
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:35 2014]: [LAUNCH] Setting extension to: nes
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:35 2014]: [PLUGIN] No plugin found for launcher_nes
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:35 2014]: ******** Command from Wah!Cade is:  /usr/bin/retroarch -f -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-nestopia.so "/games/nes/Ninja Gaiden (U) [!].nes"
[Wed Dec 31 19:15:35 2014]: ******** Begin command output
RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: NstDatabase.xml path: /home/cab/-config/retroarch/bios/NstDatabase.xml
RetroArch [WARN] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro WARN] :: NstDatabase.xml required to detect region and some mappers.
RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: [Nestopia]: Machine is NTSC.


I am using
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/retroarch -f -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-nestopia.so "/games/nes/Ninja Gaiden (U) [!].nes"

when starting it from anywhere else and it works fine. Is wahcade changing any settings? I am getting the same warnings as I get in the logfile when starting it anywhere else but it works… worked 2days ago. Only thing which was odd was that the screen was flcikering after changing ttys. Pressed some keys to change that. p made it fine again but it crashed afterwards. Can't get it to run since. What could that have changed?

I am always out of ideas when it works from any shell but not in wahcade. What is wahcade doing different than my shell?

Greetings

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:38 pm
by Zombie
WahCade can launch things from /usr/share/wahcade. Sometimes this makes some emulators screw up. But not RetroArch.

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:18 am
by sairuk
very strange, not seen this behaviour before. I don't use retroarch but Wah!Cade does not touch any settings for emulators unless instructed too via the commandline/script the user created.

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:54 am
by the_gamer
Zombie wrote:WahCade can launch things from /usr/share/wahcade. Sometimes this makes some emulators screw up. But not RetroArch.

If it works for you can you see what my poblem could be?

sairuk wrote:very strange, not seen this behaviour before. I don't use retroarch but Wah!Cade does not touch any settings for emulators unless instructed too via the commandline/script the user created.

Something has to be different! I am using the commanline the logfile says it uses and it works fine from shell. It can't be the same but what is it?

BTW: Happy new year!

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:15 pm
by Zombie
launch wahcade with -d and then make sure that /usr/bin/retroarch is the actual retroarch executable and not a script. Also the -f part of your syntax looks odd.

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 9:44 pm
by the_gamer
Zombie wrote:launch wahcade with -d and then make sure that /usr/bin/retroarch is the actual retroarch executable and not a script. Also the -f part of your syntax looks odd.

-f is for fullscreen what is wrong with it? Should I put it at another place? Will test with -d!

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 9:53 pm
by Zombie
I didn't know that, I use the -c parameter to define unique Per-system cconfiguration on things like BIOS, Screen Resolution and Controls.

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:26 pm
by the_gamer
Zombie wrote:launch wahcade with -d and then make sure that /usr/bin/retroarch is the actual retroarch executable and not a script. Also the -f part of your syntax looks odd.

Sorry for the late answer I don't have nearly as much time to play as i would wish for. It works fine with wahcade -d. What does -d do? Safe to run it that way every time? Was on another tty as I need it though but don't tell me that is the problem.

The path had to be right as I said it works fine when it is launched with the command wahcade uses.

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 5:13 pm
by the_gamer
I can't believe it! I tried it. It works when I run wahcade from a shel on tty4 but on tty1 where wahcade is run from the booting on I get the black screen.

It depends on the tty. But why, wtf?
sairuk got any explanation or the slightest idea why this is happening?

[Edit] Of course it is one and the same user which also means it has the same configuration files![/Edit]

The process says:
cab 1806 0.0 0.0 15744 3044 tty1 T 17:09 0:00 /bin/sh -c /usr/bin/retroarch -f -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-nestopia.so "/games/nes/romfile.nes" >> /home/cab/.wahcade/wahcade.log 2>&1

But I see a black screen with the X-mouse(which the user doesn't use. this is so weird!

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:49 pm
by sairuk
Nope, maybe it has something to do with the tty config of the distro you are using. Can't be sure atm

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:39 pm
by the_gamer
sairuk wrote:Nope, maybe it has something to do with the tty config of the distro you are using. Can't be sure atm

My distro (archlinux) has no config of its own. My config is that on tty1 wahcade is started with X, another user starts kde on another tty with another user. For this test I allowed all local users to use the X from this user, su'ed to the wahcade-user, started wahcade. That's all there is. I can provide the whole configuration which starts wahcade and kde and answer any other question about my configuration. But archlinux is vanilla on its own, no chances.

So anybody got any idea where to look/any questions?

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:04 pm
by the_gamer
I still can't get the difference dammit! :(

$ cat ~/.wahcade/wahcade.log
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: //======================= NEW LOG RUN =======================//
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: Wah!Cade updating user config files in: /home/cab/.wahcade
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: No custom splash found, loading /usr/share/wahcade/pixmaps/wahcade-logo.png
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: [TWITTER] support disabled due to missing options
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: [TWITTER] consumer_key cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: [TWITTER] consumer_secret cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: [TWITTER] access_key cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:11 2015]: [TWITTER] access_key cannot be blank in wahcade.ini, details available at https://dev.twitter.com/
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:12 2015]: Warning: ScrSaver: video objects not created, reverting to images
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:12 2015]: Selected platform: NES / Famicom
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:12 2015]: Selected gameslist: All Games
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:12 2015]: Fullscreen mode
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:15 2015]: [LAUNCH] Single extension only
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:15 2015]: [LAUNCH] Setting extension to: nes
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:15 2015]: [PLUGIN] No plugin found for launcher_nes
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:15 2015]: ******** Command from Wah!Cade is: /usr/bin/retroarch -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-nestopia.so "/games/nes/mygame.nes"
[Mon Feb 2 16:57:15 2015]: ******** Begin command output
RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: NstDatabase.xml path: /home/cab/-config/retroarch/bios/NstDatabase.xml
RetroArch [WARN] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro WARN] :: NstDatabase.xml required to detect region and some mappers.
RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: [Nestopia]: Machine is NTSC.

$ /usr/bin/retroarch -L /usr/lib/libretro/libretro-nestopia.so "mygame.nes"
RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: NstDatabase.xml path: /home/cab/-config/retroarch/bios/NstDatabase.xml
RetroArch [WARN] :: rarch_log_libretro :: [libretro WARN] :: NstDatabase.xml required to detect region and some mappers.
RetroArch: rarch_log_libretro: [libretro INFO] :: [Nestopia]: Machine is NTSC.

Deleted the config from retroarch but still the same error. Exactly the same output when it works and when it doesn't work. No difference. Maybe it is something similar like the keyboard error in wine and the focus changes/the program is going somewhere into the background? But I can't hear the music playing either when it doesn't work.

Any idea is still appreciated!

Re: Seeing Black Screen with X-Cursor

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:15 pm
by the_gamer
Important Update: I messed with the configuration of retroarch on the tty it was working and added -c to the correct configurationfile.
Sadly I can't really say which of the changes was causing the problem. Now it starts and is playable.

BUT: It isn't accepting any keyboard inputs. I can now play with my joypads but I need at least the Esc-key to exit retroarch. I will tweak some more options if any idea comes in in the meantime, I will gladly try it out!

Setting the input-driver to "linuxraw" or "sdl2" reproduces the problem! I don't know if that was the initial problem. Both other options, x and udev won't accept the keyboard input(only on tty4, but i need at least esc to escape retroarch on tty1)

[last edit] The change to sdl2 wasn't properly saved even after saving multiple times. Editing the config-file by hand and entering input_joypad_driver = "sdl2" solved my problems here. PHEW [/edit]