Page 1 of 1

Game not running when started from wahcade directly

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:06 am
by the_gamer
I've written a game using panda3d. Starting my game from wahcade. menu comes up fine but when i start the game only the background is showing no models of the 4d environment. No errors. Games works fine without wahcade.
Starting wahcade from kde and launching the games that way… everything working. But when starting wahcade only, the game just doesn't work. I'm getting insane trying to figure out why.
Would be glad for any idea why it doesn't work when being launched from wahcade directly?

Does wahcade use compositing or forces an opengl-version or something? And kde overwrites this setting? MAybe I can overwrite it when starting wahcade directly?

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:54 pm
by sairuk
Wahcade is based on pygame, I would start there with any investigations. As fair as i'm aware there is known conflicts between pygame and panda3d.

Wah!Cade cannot enforce any opengl version, opengl is not supported by pygame without additional libs which we don't use.


I presume you can launch other opengl title from Wah!Cade without issue?

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:43 am
by the_gamer
Yes I can launch other OpenGL games without issues. I had to insert
xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr&
into my .xinitrc to get my Cursor to show up(and not the x-cursor from Xorg). And it works if I start wahcade from KDE and run the game from there... So I assume there could something be missing in my .xinitrc which KDE is loading by itself? What could that be?

First googling revealed that some are even using pygame and panda3d in the same game but I will investigation further.

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:17 am
by Zombie
Wahcade will launch a binary from a read only current directory. in /usr/share/wahcade. Write a script to change the current directory to a normal location.

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:44 am
by the_gamer
Zombie wrote:Wahcade will launch a binary from a read only current directory. in /usr/share/wahcade. Write a script to change the current directory to a normal location.

The script starting my game changes the directory to the directory of the game.
Or do you mean the current directory when wahcade is launched?

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:36 pm
by the_gamer
I don't know why but the problem is solved by parenting nothing to the camera in panda3d but creating a new node, moving that like the camera and parenting everything which should be parented to the camera and the camera to that node. I don't understand why and why this is treated different with and without windowmanager but that's the solution. So this was more a panda issue than a wahcade issue.