Error when launching Wahcade

A nice (keyboard based) front end for Arcade / Console game emulators.

Moderator: battlecat

Error when launching Wahcade

Postby lunchbox » Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:59 pm

When launching wahcade I get the error below. This just started with version .24 as .23 worked. I love your frontend and it pains me to not be able to get joystick support. I'm open to any recommendations or tests.

Thanks in advance!

This occurs when launching wahcade:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "wahcade.py", line 72, in <module>
    app = WinMain(options)
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_main.py", line 275, in __init__
    self.load_emulator()
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_main.py", line 924, in load_emulator
    self.load_list()
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_main.py", line 974, in load_list
    self.pop_games_list()
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_main.py", line 1182, in pop_games_list
    self.lsGames, self.lsGames_len = filters.read_filtered_list(list_filename)
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/filters.py", line 533, in read_filtered_list
    lines = f.readlines()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 626, in readlines
    return self.reader.readlines(sizehint)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 535, in readlines
    data = self.read()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 432, in read
    raise
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 424, in read
    newchars, decodedbytes = self.decode(data, self.errors)
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0xb0 in position 29653: unexpected code byte


This occurs when I click the "Setup Filters" button in wahcade-setup:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_filter.py", line 239, in on_cboLists_changed
    self.load_filter()
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_filter.py", line 280, in load_filter
    self.load_list()
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/win_filter.py", line 327, in load_list
    games_list, games_list_len = filters.read_filtered_list(list_filename)
  File "../../pkg/usr/share/wahcade/filters.py", line 533, in read_filtered_list
    lines = f.readlines()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 626, in readlines
    return self.reader.readlines(sizehint)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 535, in readlines
    data = self.read()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 432, in read
    raise
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/codecs.py", line 424, in read
    newchars, decodedbytes = self.decode(data, self.errors)
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0xb0 in position 29653: unexpected code byte
lunchbox
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:30 pm

Postby balki » Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:41 pm

Hi,

Hmmm - I've had a problem similar to this - I found that deleting my existing list files (in ~/.wahcade/files/*.lst) and then regenerating them using the setup editor was the quickest way of solving this... (make a backup of your .wahcade dir first).

I guess I need to find a better way of dealing with unicode type errors but it's a bit of a minefield.

Hope this helps,

Andy
User avatar
balki
Site Admin
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am
Location: Huddersfield, UK

Postby lunchbox » Fri Feb 01, 2008 2:59 am

Awesome! That fixed it. I had to delete the .ftr files as well though. I needed to regenerate those lists anyway. Plus now we have that game list editor!
lunchbox
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:30 pm

Postby RomKnight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:17 pm

Hi,

this won't do the trick. I've reconfigured everything from scratch by moving the .wahcade dir to another location. the problem's still there.

I had to use a .dat file instead of XML to generate the lists :S

Any ideas?

[edit]
I removed the other stuf regarding segfaults because it doesn't fit here (for those who have read it)

Regarding list generation it took a long time and didn't generate a thing using the .dat file so i'm stuck. Ill try using romdir...

I also can't select anything while setup filters before pressing "generate" :(

[/edit]
RomKnight
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:52 pm

Postby RomKnight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:00 pm

OK, using romdir worked. After that I used xml file again and it seems to be OK. As expected the names are the ones of the files without .zip and I had to re-generate it again, with xml file and all went well

Then I've created a new list for vertical games. I've found that I cannot select any filter option in "all games" but only in lists I create instead. Kindda obvious so, shame on me.

It generated the filter but.. keep reading

When trying to setup filters for the "vertical" games I found my self looking for THE filters.

As example, I selected "Screen Type Filters" and that's it... no subsection as shown in "Display Clones" with "No", "Yes" or "Only if better than Parent".

Is this a bug or is it my system?

PS: I've been using catver.ini (english version) from http://www.progettoemma.net/history/catlist.php
RomKnight
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:52 pm

Postby RomKnight » Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:29 pm

This is getting wierd... after making some adjustments to keys used by wahcade I tried once again the list generator to create a list for my daughter... now i can see everything in filters but only for "all games" :?: :?: :?:

Here's what i've done:

generate a "default list", reset it and that's it. now everything is there and a proper filtered list can be generated.

I need some STRONG liquor :)
RomKnight
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 10:52 pm


Return to Wah!Cade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron