Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

A nice (keyboard based) front end for Arcade / Console game emulators.

Moderator: battlecat

Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby Hopelessone » Thu May 13, 2010 10:54 am

Hi,

I got Sdlmame, Wah!cade on Ubuntu 9.10

If Someone Who Isn't Me has these folders:
/Bios 0.136
/Roms 0.137
/CHD's 0.137

How can he setup Wah!cade to run? do you have to merge them all together?
At the moment Wah!cade is pointing only to Roms 0.137 folder...so of course it dosent work..

Any light would be much appreciated..
Hopelessone
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby codefenix » Thu May 13, 2010 12:54 pm

Rom files and bios files should go in the same folder. As for CHDs, put each one in its own subfolder within the roms folder, and give it the same name as the rom to which it corresponds.

For example, suppose you have a rom file named "sfiii.zip" in your folder. You would need to create a subfolder named "sfiii" and put its CHD file in there.

/Roms 0.137/sfiii.zip < - Rom file
/Roms 0.137/sfiii/ < - put CHD file here.
User avatar
codefenix
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby Hopelessone » Thu May 13, 2010 2:54 pm

Thanks codefenix,

I did that like you said, Put all together..CHD's were already in a folder luckily..

I can't seem to play anything? The screen loads the straight away closes back to Wah!cade...I played them with Gmameui so I know they work...

What do I have to do to get it working?

Thanks,
Hopelessone
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby Hopelessone » Thu May 13, 2010 3:13 pm

Ah I had to config SDLmame properly..

http://anti-particle.com/forum_phpbb3/v ... ?f=4&t=292

To properly configure SDLMame on ubuntu:

Edit the /etc/sdlmame/mame.ini file and change:

Code: Select all
inipath                   /etc/sdlmame


to:

Code: Select all
inipath                   $HOME/.mame;/etc/sdlmame



Then run a command to create your own ini file:

Code: Select all
mkdir ~/.mame
cd ~/.mame
sdlmame -createconfig



You should then edit the ~/.mame/mame.ini file and set the various path entries to where your roms, sound samples, etc are located.

Working Now...Many thanks for your help..

P.S. A Wiki would be real nice so newbies like me can easily find stuff..
Hopelessone
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 2:41 pm

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby codefenix » Thu May 13, 2010 3:36 pm

Glad you figured it out on your own. I was about to suggest just that.

FYI, the wikis, f.a.q.'s and help docs are all out there. The Quick Start Guide does say you should first be able to run mame before attempting to play with Wah!Cade. Had you followed that, it would have saved you some time and trouble.

Good luck with the rest of your setup!
User avatar
codefenix
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby gegewali » Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:56 am

How to get rid of BIOS on start up? I took my computer apart to clean out the dust. After I put it back together, every time its boots up the bios starts up prompting me to continue or go to setup. Aside from this, everything is fine. It's getting annoying though. How do make it start up automatically?
______________________________
market samurai ~ marketsamurai ~ marketsamurai.com
Last edited by gegewali on Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
gegewali
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 7:54 am

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby codefenix » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:46 pm

gegewali,

Please read threads in their entirety before posting a new reply at the end -- this is good etiquette on any forum. The bios you're referring to is an altogether different thing from the bios files discussed in this thread.

Try using Google to find possible solutions to your problem, like this link I found:
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/599927.html

Good luck.
User avatar
codefenix
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: Setting up help for bios files SDLmame Wah!cade..

Postby deshraya » Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:15 am

How do I access my bios to make my laptop boot off an external hard drive operating system? Hi I have a HP Pavillion dv9000 and I needed some help in configuring the Bios so that It will boot off Windows XP on my external hard drive. I am currently using Vista and wanted to use XP for gaming. How do I get to boot off the external drive's operating system?
____________________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com
deshraya
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:16 am


Return to Wah!Cade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron