How to change language

A nice (keyboard based) front end for Arcade / Console game emulators.

Moderator: battlecat

How to change language

Postby Mr_Skay » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:20 am

Hi all,

I recently installed Wah!Cade on Gentoo 64bits succesfully
Configuration is OK, list generation too (after modifying the filters.py file to avoid the keyboard error) but Wah!Cade is in italian.
There's no option in wahcade-setup to change the language, i don't see any option in the ini files...

How can I change Wah!Cade language ?


Thanks
Mr_Skay
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:16 am

Re: How to change language (mahcade)

Postby stealth » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:12 am

Hi

I have exactly the same problem with Mah!Cade/ubuntu, i can change the mah!Cade language ?
You can see the problem in this live cd/usb http://traceroot.c.la/livemamecab-2011.iso

Thanks
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:14 am

The language settings are based on the local system configuration (afaik).

run
Code: Select all
% locale

and see if the system is set to italian
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: How to change language

Postby stealth » Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:18 pm

Hi sairuk and thank for your work

$ locale
LANG=fr_FR.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="fr_FR.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=
A little mamecab OS - Mah!Cade, mame , retroarch - Livemamecab
The live CD can be used for a quick demo or test, Download ISO
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:27 pm

Ok, so its a french distro, therefore in french. Makes sense. :mrgreen:

You will need to work out how to change the locale for you system/distro or edit your ~/.bashrc to reset the locale for the logged in user

adding this to your ~/.bashrc may do the trick.
Code: Select all
export LANG="en_US.utf8"


to see what locale options are available on the system run
Code: Select all
locale -a


FYI My Ubuntu 11.04 netbook return the following for the locale command
Code: Select all
LANG=
LANGUAGE=
LC_CTYPE="POSIX"
LC_NUMERIC="POSIX"
LC_TIME="POSIX"
LC_COLLATE="POSIX"
LC_MONETARY="POSIX"
LC_MESSAGES="POSIX"
LC_PAPER="POSIX"
LC_NAME="POSIX"
LC_ADDRESS="POSIX"
LC_TELEPHONE="POSIX"
LC_MEASUREMENT="POSIX"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="POSIX"
LC_ALL=
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: How to change language

Postby stealth » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:02 am

I will not have problem with keyboard ? (azerty/qwerty)

I think it will be more easier if when whacade don't found any translation it use English, why italian ?
A little mamecab OS - Mah!Cade, mame , retroarch - Livemamecab
The live CD can be used for a quick demo or test, Download ISO
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:54 am

stealth wrote:I will not have problem with keyboard ? (azerty/qwerty)

I think it will be more easier if when whacade don't found any translation it use English, why italian ?


Don't know if you would have keyboard problems. if you would like a workaround in place of a fix

copy:
Code: Select all
wahcade/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo

to
Code: Select all
wahcade/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo


or rename the folders and see if that works.
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: How to change language

Postby stealth » Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:49 pm

That doesn’t fix all menus are in english and some in italian, for example Keys or setup filters
A little mamecab OS - Mah!Cade, mame , retroarch - Livemamecab
The live CD can be used for a quick demo or test, Download ISO
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:17 am

stealth wrote:That doesn’t fix all menus are in english and some in italian, for example Keys or setup filters


If you resolve this issue, then let us know.
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: How to change language

Postby stealth » Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:46 am

Sorry, you are right

see

strings locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo

Posizione del file formato visualizzatore Pannello di Controllo (.lay)
Immagine di sfondo (se esiste) per la finestra del visualizzatore cronologia.
Percorso file catver.ini
Percorso file controls.ini
File history.dat
Percorso file eseguibile dell'emulatore
Ordine lancio applicazioni prima dell'emulatore, es. 1,2,3 or 3,2,1 or 1,2 or 1 etc.
Questo viene visualizzato nel formato
Titolo
Trasparente
Utilizza Joystick
Utilizza tastiera
Utilizza percorso configurazione applicazione (es. wahcade/config invece di ~/.wahcade)
Visibile
Volume (%)
Wah!Cade
Editor formato Wah!Cade
Opzioni Wah!Cade
File configurazione Wah!Cade creati in: [%s]
Attenzione: impossibile creare oggetti musica di gstreamer
Attenzione: impossibile creare oggetti video di gstreamer
Attenzione: Salva schermo: impossibile creare oggetti video gstreamer
Attenzione: modulo pygame non trovato, Joystick non supportati
Includi elenchi
File XML / Dati
Filtro anno
Devi impostare un nome ROM
[Azione Joystick]
I_nformazioni
Mo_difica
_File
A_iuto
Finestra _Principale
_Apri formato Wah!Cade
Finestra _Opzioni
_Rimuovi Gioco
_Reimposta filtro
Finestra _Salva schermo
_Seleziona tutto
_Visualizza
n Giochi
Diego Pierotto <ita.translations@tiscali.it>, 2009

There is confuse between it and fr
Last edited by stealth on Sun May 01, 2011 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
A little mamecab OS - Mah!Cade, mame , retroarch - Livemamecab
The live CD can be used for a quick demo or test, Download ISO
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Sun May 01, 2011 8:39 am

Looking around the code today; I have spotted a problem with one of the packaging scripts make_gettext; the script used to internationalize Wah!Cade

It copies the italian language wahcade.mo into the fr directory.

Code: Select all
msgfmt fr.po -o ../locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo
msgfmt it.po -o ../locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo


should be

Code: Select all
msgfmt fr.po -o ../locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo
msgfmt it.po -o ../locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo


which would explain why a french distribution has italian text in Wah!Cade
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: How to change language

Postby stealth » Sun May 01, 2011 9:56 am

Ok thanks

I fix livemamecab and i added english language - pref F2 at start -

Now you can use:

- USB key or SD card, (Caution you must create two fat32 partitions: a single for the filesystem (800 Mo) and a data partition for roms) -> Slow boot
- LiveCD for boot and USB key (two partitions, the first very little) for backup data and roms -> Very slow boot
- HDD only, or HDD + USB key for roms - Just add a user ubuntu and enable auto login -> Fast

sdlmame 0.142u1 and the last Mah!Cade version
Last edited by stealth on Wed May 11, 2011 12:29 pm, edited 3 times in total.
A little mamecab OS - Mah!Cade, mame , retroarch - Livemamecab
The live CD can be used for a quick demo or test, Download ISO
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Sun May 01, 2011 11:48 am

I have found further issues with what I reported above, the make_gettext script was failing on a non-ascii character in win_list.py which stopped translations from being compiled. I have fixed in the latest bzr version.
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: How to change language

Postby stealth » Sat May 14, 2011 12:22 pm

The problem is still here, you can see with du command

32K wahcade/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES
36K wahcade/locale/it
32K wahcade/locale/es/LC_MESSAGES
36K wahcade/locale/es
16K wahcade/locale/en_GB/LC_MESSAGES
20K wahcade/locale/en_GB
16K wahcade/locale/en/LC_MESSAGES
20K wahcade/locale/en
24K wahcade/locale/sv/LC_MESSAGES
28K wahcade/locale/sv
32K wahcade/locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES
36K wahcade/locale/fr
24K wahcade/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES
28K wahcade/locale/de

it and fr are sames
A little mamecab OS - Mah!Cade, mame , retroarch - Livemamecab
The live CD can be used for a quick demo or test, Download ISO
stealth
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:26 pm

Re: How to change language

Postby sairuk » Sat May 14, 2011 1:01 pm

locale files should be fixed in mahcade commit 52, you should be able to move the files across to a wah!cade install as well.

Code: Select all
$ crc32 ~/wahcade/devel/locale/fr/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo
5ce1a6a3
$ crc32 ~/wahcade/devel/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/wahcade.mo
3262ac31
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am


Return to Wah!Cade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron