help with vectrex

A nice (keyboard based) front end for Arcade / Console game emulators.

Moderator: battlecat

help with vectrex

Postby General_Faliure » Sun Jan 23, 2011 2:31 pm

Hello all

I have set up vectrex using Mess. (i compiled mess 1.40 on my Lubuntu 10.10 cab)
The games are playing fine, but i can't get it to use the overlays. (they are zipped in the art directory of mess).
The mess executable is in the directory where i compiled it.
The ini provided with wahcade doesn't work for me, the old xmess.sdl doesn't even start.
I pointed wahcade to the new mess 1.40, with the wahcade vectrex ini (vectrex -cart "[rompath]/[name].[romext]" -jt 1 -fullscreen) i get an error; the emulator doesn't understand "-jt".
So i removed the part after romext]", now the games start, but i don't have overlays.
I guess something has to be added to the script.

I have also tried Parajve http://vectrex-emu.blogspot.com/ but it has bad sound in linux.
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core 2 duo 8400 @3600, 4 gig mem, Geforce 9500. Mame, Mess, Daphne, and some more.
Mah!cade
User avatar
General_Faliure
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:51 pm
Location: Drunen, Netherlands

Re: help with vectrex

Postby Zombie » Sun Jan 23, 2011 6:37 pm

I avoid using the sdlmame and sdlmess stuff in favor of sdlmess.real. this way, I specify the parameters sdlmess uses. Just look at any of my MESS templates.
User avatar
Zombie
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:52 pm

Re: help with vectrex

Postby codefenix » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:47 pm

GF, have you tried this page yet?
http://mess.redump.net/sysinfo:vectrex

GCE Vectrex (1982): Overlays wrote:Overlays

Overlays are supported in .png format. To use the overlays, first of all you have to download them from somewhere and put them in the artwork/ directory. The easiest way is to grab them from the artwork page of this wiki. This way you would also obtain the .lay file which provides a list of the available overlays.

Finally, either run MESS with the -nonewui option and use the TAB menu under Video Options to select an overlay at run-time (TAB → Video Options → Overlay), or specify the desired overlay on the command line, e.g. with

mess vectrex -cart "C:\pathtogame\Armor Attack (1982).vec" -view armor

The text after -view is the beginning of the name of the game as listed under Video Options; you only need to type enough letters that only one game matches.


Based on the above information, you're missing the -view parameter option in your command line. So try something like this:

Code: Select all
mess vectrex -cart "[rompath]/[name].[romext]" -fullscreen -view "[name]"
User avatar
codefenix
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 3:45 pm
Location: USA

Re: help with vectrex

Postby General_Faliure » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:09 pm

thanks for the tips.

I will get to it soon.
I also found out the game names aren't all the same as the overlay names, so i have to fix that too.
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core 2 duo 8400 @3600, 4 gig mem, Geforce 9500. Mame, Mess, Daphne, and some more.
Mah!cade
User avatar
General_Faliure
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:51 pm
Location: Drunen, Netherlands


Return to Wah!Cade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron