Game not running when started from wahcade directly

A nice (keyboard based) front end for Arcade / Console game emulators.

Moderator: battlecat

Game not running when started from wahcade directly

Postby the_gamer » Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:06 am

I've written a game using panda3d. Starting my game from wahcade. menu comes up fine but when i start the game only the background is showing no models of the 4d environment. No errors. Games works fine without wahcade.
Starting wahcade from kde and launching the games that way… everything working. But when starting wahcade only, the game just doesn't work. I'm getting insane trying to figure out why.
Would be glad for any idea why it doesn't work when being launched from wahcade directly?

Does wahcade use compositing or forces an opengl-version or something? And kde overwrites this setting? MAybe I can overwrite it when starting wahcade directly?
the_gamer
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

Postby sairuk » Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:54 pm

Wahcade is based on pygame, I would start there with any investigations. As fair as i'm aware there is known conflicts between pygame and panda3d.

Wah!Cade cannot enforce any opengl version, opengl is not supported by pygame without additional libs which we don't use.


I presume you can launch other opengl title from Wah!Cade without issue?
mameau - My random bits | Wah!Ki - A Wah!Cade wiki | Mah!Cade - Experimental Wah!cade Branch | ListGen | Lazarus
User avatar
sairuk
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

Postby the_gamer » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:43 am

Yes I can launch other OpenGL games without issues. I had to insert
xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr&
into my .xinitrc to get my Cursor to show up(and not the x-cursor from Xorg). And it works if I start wahcade from KDE and run the game from there... So I assume there could something be missing in my .xinitrc which KDE is loading by itself? What could that be?

First googling revealed that some are even using pygame and panda3d in the same game but I will investigation further.
the_gamer
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

Postby Zombie » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:17 am

Wahcade will launch a binary from a read only current directory. in /usr/share/wahcade. Write a script to change the current directory to a normal location.
User avatar
Zombie
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 2:52 pm

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

Postby the_gamer » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:44 am

Zombie wrote:Wahcade will launch a binary from a read only current directory. in /usr/share/wahcade. Write a script to change the current directory to a normal location.

The script starting my game changes the directory to the directory of the game.
Or do you mean the current directory when wahcade is launched?
the_gamer
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Game not running when started from wahcade directly

Postby the_gamer » Tue Mar 22, 2016 7:36 pm

I don't know why but the problem is solved by parenting nothing to the camera in panda3d but creating a new node, moving that like the camera and parenting everything which should be parented to the camera and the camera to that node. I don't understand why and why this is treated different with and without windowmanager but that's the solution. So this was more a panda issue than a wahcade issue.
the_gamer
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:45 pm


Return to Wah!Cade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron